Hip-Hop Took Over This Year’s 2018 MTV Music Video Awards!


Last night(August 20th) some of music’s biggest names gathered together at the 2018 MTV Music Awards which aired live from Radio City Music Hall in New York City at 9 p.m.

Hip-Hop really put on at the show from the winners list to the star studded featured performances by Michael Jackson Video Vanguard winner Jennifer Lopez, JaRule, Travis Scott, Post Malone, Logic, Nicki Minaj, Cardi B and more.

The ladies especially took over at this year’s ceremony, the Invasion Of Privacy Rapper pulled a prank for her opening performance/monologue. Cardi locked in 10 nominations in a variety of categories ranging from Artist of the Year to Best New Artist. Following close behind with 8 nominations including Video of the Year for “Apeshit” is The Carters (Beyoncé and Jay Z) then Drake with 7 nods consisting ofBest Hip-Hop for “God’s Plan,” among others.

If you couldn’t watchthe live show, take a look below to see this year’s 2018 MTV Music Video Award winners.

2018 MTV Video Music Awards Winners:

Video of the Year —

Camila Cabello ft. Young Thug – “Havana” – Syco Music/Epic Records

Artist of the Year —

Camila Cabello – Syco Music/Epic Records

Song of the Year —

Post Malone ft. 21 Savage – “rockstar” – Republic Records

Best New Artist (Presented by Taco Bell®) —

Cardi B – Atlantic Records

Best Collaboration —

Jennifer Lopez featuring DJ Khaled and Cardi B – “Dinero” – Epic Records/Nuyorican Productions

Push Artist of the Year —

Hayley Kiyoko – Atlantic Records

Best Pop —

Ariana Grande – “No Tears Left to Cry” – Republic Records

Best Hip-Hop —

Nicki Minaj – “Chun-Li” – Young Money/Cash Money Records

Best Latin —

J Balvin, Willy William – “Mi Gente” – UMLE/Republic Records

Video With a Message —

Childish Gambino – “This Is America” – mcDJ / RCA Records

Best Cinematography —

Childish Gambino – “This Is America” – mcDJ / RCA Records – Cinematography by Larkin Seiple

Best Dance —

Avicii ft. Rita Ora – “Lonely Together”

Best Choreography —

Childish Gambino – “This Is America” – mcDJ / RCA Records – Choreography by Sherrie Silver

Best Direction —

Childish Gambino – “This Is America” – mcDJ / RCA Records – Directed by Hiro Murai – WINNER

Best Art Direction —

The Carters – “ApeShit” – Roc Nation/Parkwood Entertainment – Art Direction by Jan Houlevigue – WINNER

Best Visual Effects —

Kendrick Lamar & SZA – “All The Stars” – TDE/Aftermath/Interscope Records – Visual Effects by Loris Paillier for BUF Paris

Best Editing —

N.E.R.D & Rihanna – “Lemon” – i am OTHER/Columbia Records – Editing by Taylor Ward

Song of Summer —

Cardi B, Bad Bunny & J Balvin – “I Like It” – WINNER

Written by: Minnee Tells It All (@minneetellsitall)