MTV announces New Categories for the 2019 Video Music Awards


The 2019 MTV Video Music Awards show is coming your way August 26th, and this year MTV announced some new categories to the show. In addition, they will have some fire performances during the red-carpet pre-show. Yes, it’s time to get ready! The new categories include ‘Best Group’, ‘Best Power Anthem’, and ‘Song of Summer’ and they already have the nominees in place! 

Nominees for the new categories:

Best Group– 5 seconds of Summer- Backstreet Boys – BLACKPINK- BTS- CNCO- Jonas Brothers – PRETTYMUCH- Why Don’t We

Best Power Anthem– Ariana Grande – “7 Rings”- DJ Khaled, ft. Cardi B & 21 Savage – “Wish Wish”- Halsey- “Nightmare”- Lizzo ft. Missy Elliot – “Tempo”- Maren Morris- “GIRL”- Megan Thee Stallion ft. Nicki Minaj & Ty Dolla $ign – “Hot Girl Summer”- Miley Cyrus – “Mother’s Daughter”- Taylor Swift – “You need to calm down”

Song of Summer– Ariana Grande & Social House – “boyfriend”- Billie Eilish – “bad guy”- DaBaby – “Suge”- Ed Sheeran & Justin Bieber – “I don’t Care”- Jonas Brothers – “Sucker”- Khalid – “Talk”- Lil Nas X ft Billy Ray Cyrus – “Old Towne Road” (Remix)- Lil Tecca – “Ransom”- Lizzo – “Truth hurts”- Miley Cyrus – “Mother’s Daughters”- Post Malone ft. Young Thug – “Goodbyes”- ROSALIA & J Balvin ft. El Guincho – “Con Altura” – Shawn Mendes & Camilla Cabello – “Senorita”- Taylor Swift – “You need to calm down”- The Chainsmokers & Bebe Rexha – “Call You Mine”- Young Thug ft. J.Cole & Travis Scott – “The London”

Now that you know these amazing nominees, who are the fire performances? Megan Thee Stallion will be showing out on the red-carpet pre show, giving you that Hot Girl flavor. Ava Max and CNCO will be performing as well. The pre-show will be hosted by Terrance J and Nessa! Looks like this sis going to be a pre-show you don’t wanna miss!