First Round of Winners Announced at 53rd NAACP Awards Virtual Experience


The 53rd NAACP Awards week-long virtual experience has kicked off! From February 21 – 25, the NAACP invites fans to celebrate and commemorate the achievements of people of color. Monday, the first round of winners in the non-televised categories were announced. These categories include podcast, literary, and youth activist of the year.

There was a long list of well-deserved award recipients. This year’s winners include; Will Smith (Will), Sherri Shepherd and Kym Whitley (Two Funny Mamas), and Jemele Hill (Jemele Hill is Unbothered) for their outstanding literary works and podcasts. Cicely Tyson also won the Debut Author award for her memoir “Just As I Am”. Howard University’s NAACP Chapter President, Channing Hill, took home the Youth Activist of the Year award.

The virtual experience is hosted by comedian Affion Crockett along with a host of presenters including Lori Harvey, Corey Hardwick, Wendy Raquel Robinson, and Khleo Thomas. The 53rd NAACP Awards will be hosted by Blackish star and seven-time Image Award winner Anthony Anderson on February 26th at 8pm on BET and a special performance by nine-time Grammy Award winner Mary J. Blige.

Viewers can tune into the virtual experience via and YouTube.