Mary J. Blige, Jay-Z and Tina Tuner are Among the 16 nominees for the Rock Hall of Fame 2021


The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announces its diverse list of nominees for the class of 2021, the list includes artists from various genres. Rap icons LL Cool J and Jay Z have been nominated along with Mary J Blige, Chaka Khan, and many more.

This is LL’s fifth nomination and Jay-Z’s first. But the Rock Nation Founder is not the only first nominee on the list. Seven of the 16 acts are appearing on the list for the first time. The first-time nominees include Foo Fighters, Mary J Blige, The Go-Go’s, Carole King, Fela Kuti, Dionne Warwick, and Jay Z.

Carol King and Tina Turner have been nominated before and entered the institution alongside their male counterparts, like a two-person act. Now the two female artists are nominated as solo artists. If inducted they will before the second and third female artists to enter the Hall of Fame. The first women artist inducted into the institution was Stevie Nicks in 2019.

“This remarkable ballot reflects the diversity and depth of the artists and music the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame celebrates” says John Sykes, the chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation in a press release. “These Nominees have left an indelible impact on the sonic landscape of the world and influenced countless artists that have followed them.”

Listed below is the complete list of this year’s nominees:

Mary J. Blige (First-time nominee)
Kate Bush (Previously nominated in 2018, 2021)
Devo (Previously nominated in 2019, 2021)
Foo Fighters (First-time nominee)
The Go-Go’s (First-time nominee)
Iron Maiden (First-time nominee)
JAY-Z (First-time nominee)
Chaka Khan (Previously nominated in 2016, 2017, 2021)
Carole King (Previously nominated in 1989, 2021)
Fela Kuti (First time nominee)
LL Cool J (Previously nominated in 2010, 2011, 2014, 2018, 2019)
New York Dolls (Previously nominated in 2001, 2021)
Rage Against the Machine (Previously nominated in 2018, 2019, 2021)
Todd Rundgren (Previously nominated in 2019, 2020, 2021)
Tina Turner (Previously nominated in 1987, 2021)
Dionne Warwick (First-time nominee)

Music lovers of various genres will be able to venture to the Rock Hall of Fame website and cast their votes opening on April 30. Ohio fans can participate by voting in-person at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Museum.

In May, the Rock Hall of Fame will announce its Class of 2021 inductees. Following the announcement will be an induction ceremony in Cleveland this Fall.